Madina Best Teachers’ Awards Committee Present Report To MP


The Professor Abu Yaya Committee that was instituted for the Best Teachers Awards for the Madina Constituency in the Greater Accra Region, on Monday, January 3, 2022, presented its final report to the Member of Parliament (MP) for the area, Hon Francis Xavier Sosu.

The Committee considered a total of 30 teacher’s applications and out of that, 14 teachers have been shortlisted and taken through due processes of engagements for the overall Best Teacher to be determined.

The award ceremony which is slated for Friday, January 7, marked exactly a year, Hon Francis Sosu was sworn into office in Parliament as MP for Madina.


During the ceremony, the 14 shortlisted Teachers with the Overall Best Teacher would be awarded together with 26 other distinguished persons including long service Awards and Volunteer Awards.

The Selection Committee was chaired by Professor Abu Yaya, the Acting Dean School of Engineering,University of Ghana and Ms Angela Nkansah, the La-Nkwatanang-Madina Municipal Director of Education as co-Chairperson.

Other members of the Committee were Prof. Charles Barnor, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, University of Professional Studies, Accra (UPSA), Prof Raymond Dziwornu, Dean Faculty of Accounting and Finance, UPSA and Dr. Haruna Rufai: Senior Research Fellow, UPSA.

The rest were Dr. Christopher Quaidoo: Lecturer, UPSA, Mr. Adams Yunus, University of Ghana, Mr. Odjidja David, Headmaster PreSec and Tim K Avordeh, the Chief Executive of the Eduscheme in the Office of the Member of Parliament.

Receiving the report, Hon Sosu commended the Committee for doing diligent work that he believed would serve as a time test of the political atmosphere of the constituency.

“I have carefully considered the report and the recommendations and feel very satisfied with the work of these highly placed personalities and can say without a shadow of a doubt that a good job has been done by the committee devoid of any partisan consideration.,” he said.

“I commend the highly professional, open and accountable manner in which the processes were undertaken and hope next year will even be better and greater with more sponsors coming on board,” the lawmaker added.

He noted that the Madina Best Teachers Awards which is an initiative by his office as MP is to honour and as well serve as a motivation for teachers in all the Education circuits within the Municipality to continue to sacrifice for the nation.

The event, the MP added would also serve as a platform of which he would account to the people of Madina about his first year in office and ask for more support to deliver his four-year mandate.

The Madina Best Teacher Awards Scheme was part of a plethora of educational programs that the MP launched at his 100 Days in office to reward hard-working and deserving teachers.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.